The Dangers of Burnout

10 Feb

It happens to everyone.  Burnout from writing, drawing, blogging, or (insert hobby of choice here.)

Lately my work schedule has been exceptionally busy, stressful, and I’ve been working lots of overtime.  Basically cutting into my “me” time, which means I come home, eat, talk to my hubby for a while, and then pass out.  Rinse, repeat.  Therefore no blog posts, guilt at not posting, and a small amount of just plain old not wanting to blog.

Its been about a week without blogging, and I miss it.  Miss my friends here, keeping up on all the creative blogs I follow, and I really miss all the thought and hard work I put into posting.  If something interesting happens to me or catches my eye during the day I file it away in the back of my mind for -post later.  It gives me something to look forward to.  Without that mostly I just have work, eat, and sleep.  (Sad I know.)

I’ve applied for a couple of internal job postings at work.  Not sure what the outcome of that will be, but I suspect I will need to put a lot more focus on work just to learn the new job (if I get it.)

With all this, I know I can’t keep up my previous schedule of five posts a week.  I’m switching to something more manageable and will post a minimum of three times a week.  As I can manage, I will post more frequently.

Anyways… I have been getting more involved with art again.  For Christmas I got an Intuos 5 art tablet which finally enables me to get into some digital media.  Below is my first attempt at one.  Its… ummm… awkwardly proportioned and has a lot of problems…

But since it is my first I wanted to share it anyway. 😀  Just don’t make fun of me too badly.

LYN 2.5 - By: Anna Van Skike

LYN 2.5 – By: Anna Van Skike (Dreampunkgeek)

6 Responses to “The Dangers of Burnout”

  1. youngemt95 February 10, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    I find that drawing very interesting. The disproportion adds to it creatively. I am not an artist, but I know good art when I see it.

  2. ReGi McClain February 10, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    5 posts a week is pretty ambitious. I’m happy if I get in 2. I hope you find a comfy schedule soon. The picture is lovely.

  3. misguidedghost86 February 12, 2013 at 5:40 am #

    I hope everything works out for you! I really like the drawing it is kind of creatively weird 🙂

  4. Victoriavann0 February 23, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    I’m trying to find a groove of my own with this full time job I have, and topics to keep me afloat. It’s hard but I’m not going to make excuses anymore.

  5. darsword March 14, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    I love your sane look at a new schedule. I tend to be very ADHD and focus uncommonly long on somethings and that takes away from others, or I am all over the place. Either way, you can see why I haven’t written on my blogs (yes, I have a few). I do manage to read a lot and review books on GoodReads, Amazon and LiveJournal. But I need to follow your idea and include my other fun pursuits, or my own writing (often not fun lately–editing).

    I LOVE your Lyn2.5!!!! Very elfish. I love the swing. I still feel the most free when I am swinging or swimming. Isn’t it a little funny that they both start with swi?

    • Dreampunk Geek March 17, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

      Haha, I dont know if its really that sane. Now that I’m feeling better Im pushing myself to get back to my 5 post a week schedule. Not sure it that will actually happen, but theres less pressure now because if I don’t hit my 5 posts, its not really a big deal.

      I had no idea you have blogs. You should keep up with them. I know I have a lot of fun keeping up DreampunkGeek. If nothing else it keeps me writing at least a little on a regular basis.

Leave a comment