Part 10 – Onging short story – “We die?”

10 Sep

The Challenge: 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#57 – Write 104 words containing the phrase … returning to the routine…

This is part 10 in an ongoing story.  A new part is added weekly with each challenge.  Links to previous chapters can be found here.

“Where did everyone go?”  Lydia whispered, feeling as if to talk would be to disturb something unpleasant.  Nothing moved except the trio and occasional drop of rain rolling off the trees.

“This isn’t your world anymore.”  Said Mum.

“This is the place in-between.”  Said the cat.  “Where magic lives, and everything else dies.”

Mum ventured farther down the before disappearing around a corner.

“We die?”

“Not if we can outrun what is following you.”  Grinned the cat.

“Can’t we get out of here?  Go home?”

“Perhaps.”  Said the cat.  “But returning to the routine is hollow after you taste what else is out there.”

21 Responses to “Part 10 – Onging short story – “We die?””

  1. annahalford (@anhalf) September 10, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    I’m always impressed when writers continue a story using different prompts. I have been away from 100wcgu for a while so will be catching up over the coming weeks.
    Love your creativity.

    • dreampunkgeek September 11, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      Thank you very much! 😀 I never planned on continuing this story, but it just happened organically. I take the prompts as a chance to push me outside my comfort zone and take the story wherever it wishes to go. This way I can’t overthink anything (one of my really bad habits.)

  2. Middle-aged Matron September 11, 2012 at 4:13 am #

    What a clever idea. I find it hard enough to think up one offs to fit the prompt without moulding a whole narrative!

    • dreampunkgeek September 11, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      In a strange way continuing the story is almost easier than thinking up one offs for me. I already have characters and a place to start, I just have to push them along wherever the prompt takes me. Sometimes it is a serious struggle to get the prompt in there. I write an entire scene and then realize I forgot to include the prompt. lol!

  3. judithatwood September 11, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    I’m looking forward to finding time to read parts 1 – 9!

    • dreampunkgeek September 11, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      Thank you! Not really on topic here – but I’m diabetic too (Type 1). High five for being diabetic 😀

      • judithatwood September 11, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

        Absolutely! When I started this blog, it was only going to be about diabetes, but now it’s more of all the things about diabetes that affect other parts of my life. Thanks for stopping by! 😎

  4. CoffeeCurls September 13, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    Excellet take on it. Mine is about a cat too!

    • dreampunkgeek September 13, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      The muse of catly things has struck again! In another life I think my cat was just like yours. Somehow mine just forgot to take that left turn at Albuquerque and wandered into a different reality. Heehee.

  5. Paul September 13, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    I look forward to reading the earlier parts to your story. I think it’s a great idea to continue with the prompts almost directing you which way to turn. Great idea. I seem to have the same character in almost everything I write. Sometimes he has a name but, in these 100 word challenges, usually not. One thing: this week’s submission of your’s seems to missing a word or two. OK, now for the self promotion. Mine is at http://photovignettes.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/the-routine/.

    • dreampunkgeek September 13, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by and reading. I’m ok with a few words that are off kilter or missing. These are essentially just fun little writing exercises for me. A rough draft with some edits. A chance to explore new topics, grow my imagination, and push me out of my comfort zone.

  6. Delft September 14, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    Sounds intriguing.

    If you include the same tag in all the chapters, and only on these posts, you can link to a “read page”, as below. Doesn’t seem to work for your story, because your tags change.

    https://dreampunkgeek.wordpress.com/tag/ongoing-story/?order=ASC

    • dreampunkgeek September 14, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      Cool. I didn’t think of that. Thanks for the advice. I will update my posts to make it easier. 🙂

  7. Susan Mann (@susankmann) September 14, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    I like this, I like how you carry on with the prompts, I do that too.

    • dreampunkgeek September 15, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      Thanks! Its a lot of fun to do. Fun to see other people doing the same.

  8. Rachael 'Honest' Blair September 14, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    What a great idea! I’m impressed you’ve managed to use the prompts to write a story that holds them all together. I need to go back and start at the beginning now!

    • dreampunkgeek September 14, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      Thank you kindly! It is always a challenge because I never know what each week will bring, but I think that might be the fun part.

  9. newpillowbook September 15, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    I love the conversation with the cat – it’s so surreal! And I like to think that when Mum disappeared, it’s not just that she went around the corner where we can’t see her – instead, she faded away one piece at a time, first an arm, then both legs up to the knees, then her head…kind of like the Cheshire cat. Anyhow, this little story is very weird and that’s good.

    And I’m another reader in awe of you for making a connected story out of the prompts!

    • dreampunkgeek September 15, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      ROFL! I am so looking for an opportunity to add this to the story now. What a fun idea. 😀

  10. shadetheraven September 15, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    And now, lets us drift though the magical land of purgatory.
    Excellent work continuing this series into a complete story!

Leave a comment