Christmas Top Hat Ornaments DIY

26 Nov

Finally found a great steampunk DIY Christmas ornament from Bits and Bobbles here.  Inspired by this pure awesomeness, I made some of my own.

finished steampunk top hat ornaments diy

I’m not sure if someone out there already has a tutorial on how to make these, but I didn’t see one so I thought I would share with you how I did it.

tracing circles

Use a round object like a glass (or in my case a glue bottle) to trace three circles the size you want your hat brim to be.

template

Draw a smaller circle inside one of your larger ones. This will be the size of the top portion of your hat.
Cut a rectangle stip long enough to go around the edge of your small circle.

Once cut, your pieces will look like this.

Glue two of your large circles together to form the hat brim

Trim any excess white areas around the edge

Take the large circle with the small circle drawn in the center. Cut tabs around the edge, careful not to cut into the center circle. Fold tabs down. This will form the top of the hat and provide something to glue onto in later steps.

Take the long rectangle of cut paper. Fold it into a tube shape and glue.

Slip the small circle with folded tabs inside the round tube.

Hot glue together from the inside

Trace a thin line of hot glue around the open edge.

Flip over and attach to your hat brim. Add trim, beads, or ribbon as you desire. Make sure to add a hook to hang on the tree. This one is made from beads although my others used wire carefully poked into the paper.

Leave a comment