Fix a broken bookcase with decoupage

5 Jul

My nephew broke this bookcase by standing on it like a ladder.  He was reaching for the fire alarm which was, at the time, going crazy.

Broken Bookcase

The bookcase is made of cheap particle board and did not appreciate being stood on.

Broken Bookcase 2

I hate throwing out things that I can give a new life to, and I had some scrapbook paper laying around waiting for an opportunity to be used.  I decided to decoupage the top.

What is Decoupage?  It is the process of attaching paper or cutouts onto something else.  It is frequently used on furniture and is usually sealed with a varnish.  It is great for covering up dings or scratches on furniture you don’t wish to part with.  Some people add maps, photos, or just different types of paper.

Step 1: Clean the surface and let dry completely.

Step1.5 (optional): You might want to sketch out your idea to plan what pieces to cut.  I eyeballed this project because I didn’t care too much if it came out ‘perfect.’  If you want to create a more intricate design I suggest you plan it out.

Step2: Because my bookcase was really broken I filled in the gaping holes with a puddle of Modge Podge.  It will not be able to support much weight, but as long as no one else stands on it, I’m not too worried.  At lease no one will be able to see the huge ugly holes.

Step3:  Find some paper.  Cut it to size and glue onto your surface.  I took 2 pieces of paper and used them to entirely cover the top of the bookcase.

I used Modge Podge on the bookcase, laid down my paper, and then immediately put another coat of modge pode over the top to help seal it.  Modge Podge dries clear and I do not believe it yellows over time.  It also acts as a cheap sealant.

bookcase with seam showing

Step4: I wanted to cover up the seam between the 2 pieces of paper – so I took a different piece of paper and cut amorphous patterns and swirls out of it.  These shapes were used to add a little interest, and cover the ugly seam.

bookcase top complete

Step5: Keep cutting and gluing until it looks right.  Add an extra coat of Modge Podge for good measure.  Let dry.  (It dries fast, which is nice.)

Step6: Enjoy your snazzy new bookcase!

 room complete

Leave a comment